Worshipping Bhairavi

Picture: http://www.wildlyfreewoman.net

Mahadevi, the supreme mother goddess in Hindu religion has many names and forms. She is known as Devi, Sati, Uma, Parvati, and Gauri.

She manifested herself to Shiva in ten forms: Kali, Bagala, Chhinnamasta, Bhuvaneshvari, Matangini, Shodashi, Dhumavati, Tripura Sundari, Tara, and Bhairavi.

As per Parashurama Kalpasutra, a tantric ritual text, composed in the 16th century in the Southern part of India, name Bhairavi is derived from the words Bharana (to create), Ramana (to protect), and Vamana (to emit or disgorge). The name symbolizes three primary cosmic functions of creation, maintenance, and destruction.

Partner of a tantric or a woman who has reached highest stages of consciousness is also called Bhairavi.

As per Vigyana Bhairava Tantra (a text from Bhairav Agama), Vigyana means knowledge, and ‘Bhairava’ is the ultimate supreme who has gone beyond fear or death. Tantra means technique or practices. Shiva is known as Bhairava and Devi is known as Bhairavi – those who have gone beyond the dualities. Vigyan Bhairav Tantra is an important text in the Tantrik literature. In this text, Parvati, Shiva’s consort sitting on the lap of Shiva, by completely surrendering to him, asks him to reveal the fundamental truth. She asks him about the path for achieving the supreme consciousness. Shiva tells 112 meditation techniques to achieve the same. Shiva is the Guru and Devi is the disciple here.

It is considered that attaining Bhairava is impossible as he is incomprehensible and invincible. One can only attain Bhairavi. And Bhairavi is nothing but the divine energy of Shiva. Bhairavi is the stage when the mind is devoid of ego and is empty. Ultimately both Shiva and Devi are one.

As per Todala Tantra, Bhairavi as garlanded with flowers which have the aura of the red rays of 1,000 rising suns. She has four hands, three eyes and her body is smeared with red. She is holding milk and book in her hands.



Bhairavi resides in the Muladhara chakra and is the central fire in the Kundalini.

Apart from her fierce and destructive form, she is considered Goddess of wealth, perfection, power, food and sexual gratification.

The Mahanirvana Tantra dedicates a hymn to the same:

Alipiśitapurandhrī bhogapūjāparo’ham Bahuvidhakulamārgārambha-saṃ bhāvito’ham Paśujanavimukho’ham Bhairavīm aśrito’ham Gurucaranarato’ham Bhairavo’ham Śivo’ham

(I follow the worship wherein there is an enjoyment of wine, flesh, and wife as also other different forms of Kaula worship. In Bhairavi, I seek my refuge. To the feet of Guru, I am devoted. Bhairava am I. Śiva am I)

As per the Mahanirvana Tantra describes Bhairavi Chakra as a mode of worship for Kaulas (an ancient tradition in Shakti tradition) The Ananda Bhairavi is at the center of the mediation which is performed by worshippers.

Bhairavi Mool Mantra is :

ॐ ह्रीं भैरवी कलौं ह्रीं स्वाहा

(Om Hreem Bhairavi Kalum Hreem Svaha)




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s